War Child Hope - Yellow Ltd Edition Vinyl


War Child Hope - Yellow Ltd Edition Vinyl

War Child – Hope. Released via War Child Records. Available on Double Yellow Vinyl LP

Hope was first released in partnership with The Daily Mirror in April 2003 as a response to the Iraq War, the artist community came together for War Child once more with some of the biggest names in music recording an album of exclusive tracks in just three weeks to raise vital funds to give hope to the children of Iraq.

George Michael contributed a beautiful cover of Don McLean’s ‘The Grave’ a song originally written in protest to the Vietnam War that has resonated with him as a 7-year-old and perfectly captured his sentiments about the Iraq crisis. Travis continued the anti-war theme with an acoustic version of ‘The Beautiful Occupation’ and Paul McCartney added to the project with an alternate rendition of ‘Calico Skies’ which contains a poignant verse about the futility of all wars. New Order added their take on Jimmy Cliff’s 1969 anti-war protest song ‘Vietnam’.

David Bowie donated the Metro Mix of ‘Everyone Says ‘Hi’’ exclusively for Hope and Basement Jaxx teamed up with Jamaican MC Yellowman for ‘Love Is The Answer’.

Beverly Knight delivered a powerful vocal performance of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Love’s In Need of Love Today’ whilst The Charlatans followed up their cover of ‘Time For Livin’ from the 1995 HELP album with Curtis Mayfield’s ‘We Gotta Have Peace’ and Beth Orton adds a sombre beauty to The Family Five’s ‘Ooh Child’.

The album is wrapped up by Yusuf / Cat Stevens who recorded his first pop song for 25 years with a new version of his 1971 hit ‘Peace Train’ with South African choir the Incwenga Singers.

The vinyl release of Hope features alternate artwork using the original concept designed by Nick Robertson that has never been used before.

Hope is part of a series of four re-releases by War Child Records making the amazing music artists have donated to the charity available on DSPs and vinyl for the first time. All proceeds from these releases will directly fund War Child’s life saving work with children affected by conflict.

Tracklisting: War Child – Hope

Side A

1. Travis – The Beautiful Occupation – Have a Listen 

2. Avril Lavigne – Knockin On Heaven’s Door

3. Paul McCartney – Calico Skies

4. David Bowie – Everyone Says ‘Hi’ (METRO Mix)

5. George Michael – The Grave

Side B

1. Ronan Keating – In The Ghetto

2. Beverly Knight – Love’s In Need Of Love Today

3. Moby – Nearer

4. New Order – Vietnam

Side C

1. Basement Jaxx ft Yellowman – Love Is The Answer

2. Spiritualized – Hold On (War Child Mix)

3. The Charlatans – You Gotta Have Peace

4. Beth Orton – Ooh Child

Side D

1. Tom McRae – Border Song

2. Billy Bragg – The Wolf Covers It’s Tracks

3. Yusuf Islam – Peace Train



Share the love with your friend

Complete the form below and we'll email your friend about this product

You’ll earn 0 reward points with this purchase.

Be one of the first to know!

We’re sorry we’re out of stock but we can let you know as soon as it's available if you enter your email address below.